Happy World Nutella Day!

Today’s post is a little of a collage of other posts. Not only is it World Nutella Day, but I completely missed Chocolate Cake Day!

This is a cake I made for my niece in December for her birthday. She loves daisies and graduated from UCLA, so her favorite colors are light blue and gold. She also adores chocolate cake and Nutella, so of course I had to make her a mayonnaise cake with Nutella frosting. Here’s the link to the cake recipe that I’ve used and adjusted for different pallets: https://shortandsweetrecipes.wordpress.com/2015/02/05/classic-chocolate-mayonnaise-cake-a-mexican-twist-on-a-family-favorite/ In additioin, I used this amazing Nutella Buttercream Frosting recipe from Confectionalism: http://www.confectionalism.com/home/nutella-buttercream-frosting-recipe/.

Android_Photo_December_18__2015_at_0542PM (1)

The decorations are all hand made, but I did cheat and used Wilton Ready-To-Use Chocolate Fondant: http://www.wilton.com/ready-to-use-rolled-fondant-chocolate/710-2078.html#q=chocolate+fondant&prefn1=contentType&prefv1=shop&start=4 to cover the entire cake. The lower daisy chain was all cut outs from the Course 3 kit, that I dried leaning against a styrofoam ‘dummy’ cake. Then using the Advanced Gum Paste Flowers kit, I made the larger Gerbera Daisies on top. Here I used the large floral drying cups and small pieces of sponges interspersed through the petals to give them some movement. The leaves, non traditional to daisies, were simply larger petals that were veined and dried on a drying rack for movement. I had a great time on this project!

I hope you all have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Happy World Nutella Day!

Leave a Reply

