Spring Sugar Cookies

For the past two weeks I’ve been teaching my first course; Basic Buttercream Skills to be exact. The students have been great and I’ve been learning a lot of new things. In the interim, I wanted to introduce myself to my new co-workers so I put together a bowl of flower cookies with my business card to let them know I would be the new Wilton Instructor. Nothing formal, just a little something to let them know they had an instructor on board and let them know I had some skills.

On my Saturday afternoon class one of my students mentioned to me that she didn’t like royal icing because of the eggs. As I tried to explain to her, most royal icing is now made with powdered eggs/meringue powder to end the risk of salmonella illness. She seemed unconvinced, so I decided to bring a treat to class; some St. Patrick’s Day cookies to give the entire class of what royal icing is, can do, and show examples of some of the techniques they can learn in Course 2.

It may seem a little sneaky at first, but I really do like baking for people. In this case, I had a few “to-do’s” to check off my list: 1. I needed to have ‘flat’ treats for teaching the 3rd lesson in Course 1 and cookies are the easiest to practice on.
2. This large batch cookie recipe from Wilton: http://www.wilton.com/large-batch-roll-out-cookies/WLRECIP-64.html is perfect, because I can grab what I need for that week’s lesson and freeze the rest.
3. There’s currently a glut of oranges and lemons on the trees, so I used the zest from the orange in the cookies nad used strained orange juice to make the Wilton Royal Icing: http://www.wilton.com/royal-icing/WLRECIP-50.html#q=wilton+royal+icing&start=1.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Voila! Week 3 baking is done!

Have a great weekend everyone!!

Leave a Reply

