13 Days of Halloween Cookies – Day 1

This year I’m going to do something fun for Halloween and take a new design each day and post it. I’ve taken the traditional cut out cookie and am trying out some techniques to see what works and what doesn’t. If you know me or my work, you know I post the good with the bad, because you can’t grow if you don’t try! I even post the ugly stuff that isn’t quite “Pinterest Worthy”! LOL

20160929_163454_1475333724246.jpg

So here it goes! The cookie itself is the tried and true Wilton Large Batch Roll-Out Cookie Recipe: http://www.wilton.com/large-batch-roll-out-cookies/WLRECIP-64.html#q=large+batch&start=1 First up is a traditional skull cookie cut-out with a couple of easy twists Large Edible Eyes from Wilton are the easiest way to decorate a cookie! Using black royal icing gives them a slightly more sinister look, and black teeth add to the horror! Okay, maybe not so much but I thought it was cute! Also, in a technique used in Course 2: Flowers and Cake Design, I used the basketweave tip (Tip #47) as a way to make raggedy shredded mummy wraps.

I hope you get a chance to try this idea! Have a great weekend!

One thought on “13 Days of Halloween Cookies – Day 1

Leave a Reply

