13 Days of Halloween Cookies – Day 5

Recently I was watching Netflix and saw an episode of “Raiders of the Lost Art.”  In this particular episode was Edvard Munch’s, “The Scream,” which was stolen in 1994.  There were actually four versions of this painting, but I was more intrigued by the look of horror the painting has.  Perfect for an easy skull cookie cut-out!
20161004_204527_1475699829653.jpg
My version is flooded with ivory icing as the base, rather bumpy and craggy, but I used it to my benefit.  Here the bumps and crags give the cookie a more horrible look.  Next I painted on a bright green, mixed with some purple and black.  Next I highlighted with yellow and used yellow for the eyes.  If you enlarge a picture of “The Scream,” you’ll see the irises of the eyes are oddly shaped.  It could be the outline of a man, a key hole or some other ominous figure.  Mimicking this with a wet on wet technique my cookie version looks more Zombie like than Scream I guess.  LOL
Leave a Reply

