13 Days of Halloween Cookies – Day 12

Rounding third base and I feel like I’m just getting started!  This has been a really fun and challenging project for me.  Lots of research, lots of errors, but also lots of learning.  If you don’t challenge yourself you’ll never grow!  These cookies are a hodge podge of ideas.  Now I’m clustering my cookies because I’m running out of time!  LOL

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Phantom of the Opera is one of my all time favorite books and musicals.  I was lucky enough to share it with a lot of my friends and family and decided to take some “paint” to a cookie and try and recreate the Phantom’s mask.  Needs more practice, but I like the way it came out having not really painted until I started doing these cookies.  Frida Kahlo was a given in my Dios De Los Muertos theme.  She’s an icon of Mexican culture, almost as iconic as the religious figures in some parts of the world.  It never ceases to amaze me how much her image appears on merchandise.  Honestly, I think she’d been horrified and a little humored by it.  Finally, a traditional Dios cookie on a black background.  So very happy with the way this one turned out!
Leave a Reply

