13 Days of Halloween Cookies – Day 13

Well, my last day of Halloween cookies!  This has been a blast and I’m sure I need to let my piping bags cool off, but I have so many more ideas that I want to try!  This last group of cookies was based on the Mexican paper flags called, “Papel Picado” translated literally into English means perforated paper!  These flags are traditionally used during festive occasions and are intricately punched paper which hang like garland to decorate festivals and parties.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The cookies were cut by hand using a grid as a template, then the edge was created using a Wilton Scalloped Ruffle Cutter from the Course 3 Student Kit.  This could easily be done using a straight edge or a Wilton Fondant Ribbon Cutter which I’ll use in the future.  The cookies then had some basic mini shapes cut into the scalloped bottom, but I think I’ll omit this in the future.  There wasn’t enough definition once the cookies were baked to make heads or tails of the design.  The cookies where then flooded with a base color which was allowed to dry completely.  Then I added the grid and the corresponding dots at the bottom edge.  After those areas dried, I either filled in or piped a pattern on top.  Simpler is better on these.  The flower is one I’ll keep, and I like the heart, I just need to figure out what other motifs would work best.  Thanks for sharing this project with me.  Have a great weekend!
Leave a Reply

